Originally from Afghanistan

Seeking Opportunities in the Constuction Sector in Belgium

Nazir's Story

In Afghanistan, I worked in my father’s construction company as a project manager and I was in charge of preparing the payroll for the employees. During this time, I had to speak a lot of English with international counterparts. Knowing English has proven to be quite useful, as English is commonly understood in Belgium. I have used my knowledge of the English language during my stay in Belgian reception centres and have worked as a translator to help other refugees, translating documents and conversations from Dari and Pashto to English.

One of the first things I did when I came to Belgium was to start learning the French language. I took French classes for three months. I regularly watch and listen to French movies and music; for me this is the easiest way to learn a language.

In my home country, I graduated with a degree in Business Economy. I wanted to get my diploma recognized so that I could continue studying at a Belgian university. Unfortunately, in order to receive a diploma validation, I needed an original document stating my degree, which I wasn’t able to bring from Afghanistan.

“Unfortunately, an original document stating my degree is needed in order to receive a diploma validation but I wasn’t able to bring this from Afghanistan.” 

Finding a job in Belgium is much more difficult than it was in Afghanistan. Here, everything is more official, you need a résumé, you need to prove that you have the right competences, and wait in line with all the other applicants. While in Afghanistan, you could find a job quite easily if you knew the right people.

I recently finished a three-month-long preparatory training in masonry at the Centre FAC - a Centre for alternate learning in the Construction sector - which will hopefully help me in my search for a job. I know finding a job takes time. I gave myself a few months to find work, but if I’m not successful, I will take the qualifier training in masonry and the corresponding internship. With the help of my social worker, I’m currently looking into possibilities for employment under the Article 60 mechanism, I am also continuing interim work and hope to further develop my skills through a professional transition programme.  I’d be happy to work in any sector, but ideally I would love to find a job in the construction sector where I already have experience. One day, I hope to be able to start my own construction company and employ competent jobseekers.

يستخدم موقع منظمة الهجرة الدولية ملفات تعريف الارتباط. بالاستمرار في استخدام خدماتنا، فإنك توافق على استخدام ملفات تعريف الارتباط و التقنيات المشابهة. اغلاق